December 2, 2022


The Education People

Two grads named EvCC distinguished alumni

Two grads named EvCC distinguished alumni

Everett Community College or university has selected assistant principal Jennifer Reyes and former Camp Fire executive director David Surface area as the college’s 2021 Distinguished Alumni.

The distinguished alumni award is the highest honor specified to Everett Neighborhood College or university and Everett Junior College or university alumni. The award honors these who have demonstrated leadership in their preferred professions and distinguished by themselves by provider to their communities.

Reyes will serve as assistant principal for Hawthorne Elementary in the coming school year. She previously was assistant principal at Jackson Elementary and taught at Whittier Elementary. She is also the recipient of the Snohomish County NAACP President’s Award and the EvCC Tanya Royer Group Support Award.

“Everett Community University was like my second house and even now continues to be that way. I inform all people to go to EvCC, together with my elementary faculty students,” Reyes stated.

Dave Area

Area attended EvCC in the late 1960s and adopted his enthusiasm for youth company. Subsequent a 24-calendar year career with Boys and Ladies Clubs of Snohomish and King Counties, Area served as government director of Camp Hearth Snohomish County for 27 many years prior to his retirement.

In an alumni highlight post Surface describes EvCC as “local and friendly … a put that allowed me to pursue my other thoughts and desires, where by I could channel into one thing and go for it. I assume the group college or university route is the only way to go.”

The two be a part of a notable list of former Distinguished Alumni award recipients. To read about prior winners, go to

New leaders in Arlington School District

Arlington General public Educational facilities lately declared a number of administrative variations for the following faculty 12 months.

Karl Olson, who served as principal of Kent Prairie Elementary, is the new director of categorical plans. Colleen Van Belle, who’d been assistant principal at Kent Prairie, will be the new principal at the university.

Bob Stoddard, an assistant principal at a center college in Marysville, will be the new assistant principal at Kent Prairie Elementary.

Jamie Miller, who’d been assistant principal at Presidents Elementary, usually takes around as the school’s principal. She will substitute present-day principal Derek Larsen, who is leaving for an elementary principal posture in the Snohomish College District.

Lisa Foslien, an assistant principal in the Marysville University District, will be the new assistant principal at Presidents Elementary, pending college board approval on July 12.

Everett Central Lions member receives prestigious award

Lee Woodard, earlier president of Everett Central Lions Club, has gained a Melvin Jones Fellowship Award from Everett Central Lions.

The humanitarian award for group service was produced by the Lions Golf equipment International Basis to be introduced by neighborhood clubs.

Woodard was cited for his work domestically in top food stuff drives, operating on projects to reduce blindness and encouraging increase the aims of Lions Clubs International, the world’s greatest company firm.